I’d rather be the Ex-Prostitute

Posted: October 13, 2011 in Jesus, Perspective

28 “But what do you think about this? A man with two sons told the older boy, ‘Son, go out and work in the vineyard today.’ 29 The son answered, ‘No, I won’t go,’ but later he changed his mind and went anyway. 30Then the father told the other son, ‘You go,’ and he said, ‘Yes, sir, I will.’ But he didn’t go.

31“Which of the two obeyed his father?”

They replied, “The first.”

Then Jesus explained his meaning: “I tell you the truth, corrupt tax collectors and prostitutes will get into the Kingdom of God before you do.  (Matthew 21:28-31)

I want to publicly confess. In my past, I have not been very consistent in obeying the commands of God (you know, when it gets down to the nitty-gritty). Can anybody relate? I read the following verses…

“If you love me, obey my commandments.” John 14:15

“Not everyone who calls out to me, ‘Lord! Lord!’ will enter the Kingdom of Heaven. Only those who actually do the will of my Father in heaven will enter.”  Matthew 7:21

….and I cringe. I think, ‘geez that doesn’t make me look like a Christ-centered believer. Are you trying to tell me something, God?’ Maybe there’s a little something within us all that can relate. It’s easy to accept the love and grace of Christ. Who doesn’t want to be loved? Who doesn’t want to be forgiven for their past? But when I think about the usual response to grace, I tremble with fear. Yes,  I shutter. It’s not uncommon for me to be on my face in tears begging for forgiveness for myself and my human brethren. It’s also not uncommon for me to read a passage out of the Bible, hear sound preaching & teaching, or even hear the Holy Spirit’s whispers; and reject applying it to my life because it makes me uncomfortable. It’s a constant internal battle between deciding to live out God’s wisdom or my own selfish desires.  See the problem?

Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow me.” Matthew 16:24

How about another example (I love illustrations)?  It’s like a gardener who is trying to clear the rocks around a dying plant. A few stones have limited the plant’s efforts for it’s roots to grow deeper. The gardener thus seeks to uncover and remove all the stones and surrounding weeds getting in the way. These stones are stubborn stones.
I was thinking about how much I don’t really show God how much I love Him. Though I strive to have a continual heart of worship (just being in awe and reverence to God’s presence all the time), I have noticed that I’m spiritually cripple. I’m like the little-leaguer who gets so excited about getting in the game and pleasing his coach, that he forgets to tie up his cleats before rushing out of the dugout, and consequently trips over his own feet upon chasing a simple pop fly.  I have a hard time walking with Christ without falling, without failing. I confess that I need rehab, and a lesson on spiritual preparation. The best way to train is by spending more quality time with God, reading about his loving and life-changing commandments.

But don’t just listen to God’s word. You must do what it says. Otherwise, you are only fooling yourselves. 23 For if you listen to the word and don’t obey, it is like glancing at your face in a mirror. 24 You see yourself, walk away, and forget what you look like. 25 But if you look carefully into the perfect law that sets you free, and if you do what it says and don’t forget what you heard, then God will bless you for doing it. (James 1: 22-25)

Sorry blog-world for not giving a life update on how life has been post-graduation, or how some plans have changed. Those that know me, know what’s going on. You know about my triumphs, struggles, and continual posture of waiting. You are also the only likely ones to read this blog post lol.

I got a chance to meet this dude recently. Marcus (FLAME) is definitely servant of the Lord!

Comments
  1. First of all, I love the analogies you used…like always. They just make me “get it” more. One of these days you should compile all these analogies into a book or something, because I really think others could learn from them. It’s what Jesus did right? 🙂 Thanks for the reminder that I need to “practice what I preach” and as I learn more about God I need to put it into action or it means nothing. I love watching you strive to grow closer to God, and how passionate you are about wanting Him to use you.

Leave a Reply

